Money Diaries

Money Diaries: Day 6

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read my disclosures for more info.

9:00 AM: Cheese puff pastry and blog time at a cafe near my apartment. Boyfriend pays, I’ll get coffee for us tomorrow.

11:00 AM: I have a weekly Farmer’s Market on Saturdays a couple blocks from my apartment, and we try to do the bulk of our weekly grocery run here. We usually load up on a ton of meat + veggies, all while eating samples of ripe in season fruit. $41

12:00 PM: Bacon and eggs at home. It’s been a money saver not eating brunch out. I love working outside my apartment, but I don’t need to pay $15-$20 for some fancy eggs when I can just grab a coffee or pastry to settle in. I’ve been trying not to eat brunch out unless it’s 1) catching up with a friend I haven’t seen forever or 2) it’s a big group gathering and a way for many people to come together. $0

3:30 PM: We’re meeting up with my friends in SF in Mission Dolores Park, so we call a Lyft Line into the city. My boyfriend and I split this one. $8.20

7:00 PM: This is one of those big friend group meals–it’s hard to get all 6 of us together, and one friend is visiting from New York–so we splurge for some authentic Thai fine dining at a place called Farmhouse Kitchen. $27.15

8:30 PM: Head home with a full belly. Lyft Line again. $18.10

Commute: $26.30
Groceries: $41
Restaurants: $27.15

Total: $94.45 

Jing is currently a software engineer based in Oakland, CA. She left her job in New York, moved to San Francisco unemployed, and more than doubled her salary in 4 months.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *