Money Diaries

Money Diaries: May Week 3

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read my disclosures for more info.

Trying out a new format on these Money Diaries! It was pretty difficult keeping up with the daily format.

Monday

9:00 AM: Casual Carpool into the City. $1

10:00 AM: Cereal and coffee at work! Time to start my recovery after all that college paraphernalia from the last reunion weekend. $0

11:00 AM: Friend requests some money for a car we took during the weekend. $2.85

12:00 PM: I’ve kind of given up on bringing lunch for this month unfortunately after that multi day fail the first week of the month, not to mention I got back so late on Sunday it wasn’t really a possibility. I find that if you miss your meal prep day, the entire week just kind of gets messed up. $5.57

1:00 PM: Another friend venmo’s me some money for the hotel we overpaid for. We had one more person end up joining in the rooms, so we thankfully got to split it 5 ways instead of the original 4! +$45.62

6:00 PM: Commute home on the Transbay Bus. $4.20

7:00 PM: Cash in 3 checks from Earny! +$10.50

8:00 PM: Dinner at home. $0

Commute: $8.05
Restaurants: $5.57
Income: +$10.50
Travel: +$45.62

Total: -$42.50

Tuesday

9:00 AM: Casual Carpool to the city! $1

10:00 AM: Cereal at work + coffee + 5 bags of popcorn. Very addicted to this new popcorn snack we have at work right now. $0

12:00 PM: Still trying to financially recover from the reunion binge, but I end up getting a little more food than usual. $7.38

6:00 PM: Transbay bus home. $4.20

7:00 PM: Dinner at home, and that was all the spending for the day! Success!! $0

Commute: $5.20
Restaurants: $7.28

Total: $12.48

Wednesday

9:00 AM: Casual Carpool. $1

10:00 AM: The usual breakfast at work. I’ve started to cut out coffee now though! Since I started sleeping earlier, I find I need it less and less. And maybe because of that coffee has been really starting to mess with my head, this is the 3rd time in 2 weeks coffee’s made me feel drunk. I do miss the routine part of it though… $0

12:00 PM: I usually go to this chinese deli that’s pay per pound. They have 50% off after 2:30 pm, which would be great for getting cooked food for the week probably, but I still haven’t gotten to try it out! $5.66

6:00 PM: Take BART over to the climbing gym to climb for a bit. $1.95

8:00 PM: One of my friends is performing his new songs at an open mic night so I take a lyft which is split with my boyfriend. $2.79

9:45 PM: My boyfriend and I are starving and end up at our favorite Burmese place, Burma Superstar, that happens to be a block from the place my friend performed. The kitchen closes in 15 minutes, but we make it just in time to put in an order. $22.50

10:30 PM: Lyft home, another one split between the two of us. $9

Commute: $14.74
Restaurants: $28.16

Total: $42.90

Thursday

8:30 AM: Eggs and bacon at home! $0

9:00 AM: Casual carpool to work $1

10:00 AM: Spotify gets billed today. I just switched over to a family plan that’s split between me and my boyfriend. I’ve been meaning to do this for the longest time but just never got to it! $7.50

12:00 PM: Brought my Burma leftovers for lunch! YES! This totally offsets the cost of a randomly splurgy dinner. $0

6:00 PM: Transbay bus home. $4.20

7:00 PM: Dinner at home $0

Commute: $5.20
Bills and Utilities: $7.50

Total: $12.70

Friday

9:00 AM: Casual carpool $1

10:00 AM: The usual breakfast cereal. $0

12:00 PM: Free lunch on Fridays! For the first time, our office manager ordered sushi! My love of tuna was fulfilled–tuna rolls, tuna sashimi, sooo good. I eat it at my desk while working because I want to meet up with some friends for lunch (my old roomie’s in town!) $0

12:30 PM: Bus over to the Ethiopian place we’re meeting up $2.25

12:45 PM: Order a tea as my contribution to this meal. $2

1:30 PM: Hop on the bus back to the office, we have free transfers on MUNI within 90 minutes thankfully! $0

6:00 PM: My boyfriend and I are supposed to meet up with our friend for his birthday but we hop on BART to go to the climbing gym for a short session. $1.95

7:30 PM: Meet up for the birthday dinner at a south Indian restaurant a few blocks from the gym and gorge on the best dosas I’ve had for a while. $25

9:00 PM: Early drinks at a nicer lounge/bar nearby. Unfortunately the credit card minimum is $20…bah!! $28

10:30 PM: Lyft home, I still need to split this with my boyfriend. $0

Commute: $5.20
Restaurants: $55

Total: $60.20

Saturday

10:00 AM: Blog date at the coffee shop nearby. Boyfriend gets the cappuccino and coffee. I’ve been having a lot of writer’s block (noooo) for this blog after trying to write my mega post last week while I was in NY and totally failing. I did some brainstorming on paper. $0

12:00 PM: Alien Covenant just came out and the theater near us is playing it. I opt to buy the matinee tickets in person to skip the convenience fee (the theater is just a block from the coffee shop). Unfortunately I was too eager to buy the tickets and the theater isn’t even open so I have to wait 15 minutes outside…totally worth the great deal though! 2 tickets for $12

1:30 PM: We pop into the Farmer’s Market to get some last minute things. There are these delicious cherries and I can’t help getting a pound along with some white peaches. My boyfriend got some stuff earlier in the morning that I still need to split with him. $9.50

4:00 PM: Go to see Alien Covenant, and I have enough self control to skip the popcorn (I have had like 15 mini bags of it throughout the week probably…) Side note: The movie was aight. Too little plot, but the action scenes were pretty good, and there was a lot of Alien featured.

6:30 PM: I get obsessed with the idea of replacing our dining chairs. We have one big wingback one, and then 5 of metal/wood/industrial ones that have the world’s hardest seats and tiniest backs. They are so uncomfortable and cold to sit in. I’ve been looking on Craigslist for some good wingback style ones to replace them for months but haven’t been able to find any. I end up ordering 2 from Amazon to try out. $124.04

9:00 PM: Make a quick dinner at home. $0

Entertainment: $12
Groceries: $9.50
Shopping: $124.04

Total: $145.54

Sunday

11:30 AM: One of my good friends is moving to Atlanta so we’re holding a goodbye brunch for him. I catch the Transbay Bus into the city. $4.20

12:00 PM: I thought there was a free transfer to the bus in SF, but it seems like there isn’t if you’re transferring between buses operated by different agencies 🙁 Bay Area public transit is so confusing with all it’s different agencies and transfer rules. $2.25

12:45 PM: Get in for brunch and mimosas. I still don’t know if I owe anyone money for this… $0

3:30 PM: Head out to meet up with my boyfriend for some climbing at the gym in Oakland. This requires a MUNI to BART transfer. $2.25 + $3.45

6:30 PM: We end up taking this awesome new car sharing service called Gig made by AAA to Whole Foods. They let you do one way drop offs within a huge radius as long as you park it somewhere with free parking for at least 2 hours. Though they charge per mile, it’s actually great if you’re running errands. I used the May promotion when they just launched and got $85 of driving credit. $0

7:00 PM: Get more groceries at Whole Foods, I end up paying for the majority of this so my boyfriend and I don’t have to split out the groceries from yesterday. $62.87

7:30 PM: Take Gig back to our apartment. Seriously this service is amazing and what I’ve been waiting for!! $0

8:00 PM: Dinner at home. $0

Commute: $12.15
Groceries: $62.87

Total: $75.02

Jing is currently a software engineer based in Oakland, CA. She left her job in New York, moved to San Francisco unemployed, and more than doubled her salary in 4 months.

2 thoughts on “Money Diaries: May Week 3

  1. I love your money diaries! It’s so refreshing to see how you manage to keep track of all your expenses throughout the week and share them with thus. I sometimes even slack off with keeping track of our food expenses. Great work! 😀

    1. Thank you so much! I think it’s been super helpful to reflect every week on how my money was spent, even though I already know I’m not the most frugal with my spending in general. I also catch myself less likely to spend because I know I’ll have to come clean and write about it here! 😂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *