Money Diaries

Money Diaries: June Week 1

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read my disclosures for more info.

Monday

9:00 AM: The tail end of our trip – we decide to forego making breakfast (and making a fire) and eating out at the cafe/diner we’ve been going to. Boyfriend pays. $0

11:00 AM: Gas for the car before the long 3 hour drive home. Boyfriend pays. $0

12:00 PM: Long drive home listening to lots of podcasts. Highly recommend Lore if you like creepy horror type stuff, as well as the Minimalists.

4:00 PM: Home at last after a reasonable amount of traffic (it was Memorial day after all…) Cook “lunch” at home. $0

7:00 PM: One last gas fill up before returning our rental. $13.09

8:00 PM: Lyft home from the airport. Phone died right after I called the car and I actually ended up bothering some poor couple to borrow their phone charger which they ended up letting me keep. My phone is a steaming POS. $9.11

9:00 PM: Dinner at home. $0

Commute: $22.20

Total: $22.20

Tuesday

7:00 AM: Coffeeshop/blog time! Boyfriend pays. $0

9:00 AM: Carpool into the city. $1

10:00 AM: Breakfast at work. $0

2:30 PM: I finally get my 2:30 PM 50% off meal, and I get a sizable helping to last for the next 2 days. $9.03

6:30 PM: Walk over to the choir my friend holds every other Tuesday.

9:00 PM: Taking public transit is the worst! I mean to take the bus and time it perfectly but I accidentally looked up the wrong starting location and the bus is actually coming 20 minutes later than I thought. Bah, I decide to go for the BART to Oakland/Lyft Line combo. $3.45 + $4.05

9:30 PM: Dinner at home. $0

Commute: $8.50
Restaurants: $9.03

Total: $17.53

Wednesday

7:00 AM: Coffeeshop time! Boyfriend pays, he usually gets a cappuccino and I get a regular coffee, so we don’t trade off every other time. $0

9:00 AM: Carpool into the city. $1

10:00 AM: Breakfast at work. $0

12:00 PM: Lunch leftovers from the day before. YAY! $0

3:00 PM: Hit by a huge “bill” from eBay for my camera sale a couple months ago. Noo. I thought all the fees were done! $75

6:30 PM: BART over to the climbing gym. $1.95

9:00 PM: Lyft line home. Boyfriend pays…I probably still owe him money for this? $0

9:30 PM: Figure out the split for our weekend trip expenses over dinner at home. $32.44

Commute: $2.95
Income: $75
Travel: $32.44

Total: $110.39

Thursday

7:00 AM: Coffeeshop time! I pay $8.10

9:00 AM: Carpool into the city. $1

10:00 AM: Good ole breakfast at work. $0

12:00 PM: More leftovers! This 50% off thing is great! It’s probably the next best thing to bringing my lunch every day! $0

3:00 PM: Charged for my gym membership. $79

6:00 PM: Hit up the climbing gym in Oakland. BART over. $3.45

8:00 PM: Lyft line home. We wanted to find a Gig car nearby to run to the grocery store, but we couldn’t find the one we were booking. 🙁 More money I still owe. $0

9:00 PM: Dinner at home. $0

Commute: $4.45
Bills & Utilities: $79
Restaurants: $8.10

Total: $91.55

Friday

8:00 AM: Not feeling so hot this morning and decide to stay home from work. Need a soothing tea from Starbucks (Peach Tranquility) $2.25

12:00 PM: Basically stay in bed the whole day… $0

9:00 PM: Feeling like crap requires a day end treat at a very nice restaurant Shakewell’s in the neighborhood. If you’re ever in Oakland, this is a must try! $34

Restaurants: $36.25

Total: $36.25

Saturday

9:00 AM: Coffee shop working. I spent 2 hours making my one little quote graphic. That stuff is hard work!!! I pay $11.20

12:00 PM: Farmer’s market for our weekly meat and veggie run. $62.32

3:00 PM: Order the other 2 chairs for our dining table. I feel like this month is going to be a home decor month…One of my greatest weaknesses is breaking from momentum. I’m really gung-ho about decorating right now because I just assembled these dining chairs! $113.12

7:00 PM: Dinner at home. $0

Restaurants: $11.20
Shopping: $113.12
Groceries: $62.32

Total: $186.64

Sunday

11:00 AM: Coffee shop blog time + finance date. Boyfriend pays. I’ve finally convinced my boyfriend to open a brokerage account! HURRAH! Sadly I end up going on a rabbit hole researching dividend portfolios instead of blogging. Who hasn’t? We’re all PF bloggers here! $0

4:00 PM: End up ordering one of this cafe’s famous pepperoni/cheese filled croissants. It just smells too good not to. Plus I’m starving from camping out here all day! $5.25

8:00 PM: Feeling really lazy and ALMOST order out. Unfortunately the crazy delivery fee doesn’t justify it and we end up cooking a light meal at home. $0

Restaurants: $5.25

Total: $5.25

Jing is currently a software engineer based in Oakland, CA. She left her job in New York, moved to San Francisco unemployed, and more than doubled her salary in 4 months.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *