Money Diaries

Money Diaries: June Week 2

I woke up this morning, and saw my traffic had shot up overnight all thanks to being featured on Rockstar Finance’s front page! Wowow, it feels so unreal!

Let’s get into what happened last week (to my wallet)!

Monday

9:00 AM: Carpool over into San Francisco. $1

10:00 AM: Can’t miss out on my free cereal and coffee at work 🙂 $0

12:00 PM: I have to pick up random household necessities at Target. I pulled out my extreme couponer for this one. I’ve actually been loving the Cartwheel app and found a $1 off coupon for an item I was buying in addition to a $5 gift card I got from buying sunscreen at Target a couple months ago. $7.10

2:30 PM: Head on over to my deli for my 50% off lunch. It’s actually insane seeing upfront what 4 days worth of food looks like. $13.27

3:00 PM: Charged by Comcast, womp womp $57.89

6:00 PM: Bus back home. $4.20

7:00 PM: I decide today’s the day to get some magnets for our fridge. I have so many homeless instax photographs that are sitting around unappreciated! These are just adorable. $9.90

8:00 PM: Dinner at home! $0

Commute: $5.20
Shopping: $17
Bills & Utilities: $57.89
Restaurants: $13.27

Total: $93.36

Tuesday

7:00 AM: The usual morning blog time! Boyfriend pays. $0

9:00 AM: Casual carpool into the city. $1

10:00 AM: Office cereal $0

12:00 PM: I’m digging this Monday 50% off deal! The one thing I struggle with though is portioning it correctly. I’m always worried of eating too much that it won’t last until Thursday, and end up under eating until Thursday where I get a giant portion. $0

2:00 PM: Charged by Google Storage for my Drive account. $1.99

6:00 PM: Bus back home $4.20

6:30 PM: We book a Gig car rental under our free $85 credit and hit up Whole Foods. Tomorrow we’re having a couple friends over so we’ve planned a nice meal. $36

8:00 PM: Dinner at home. $0

Commute: $5.20
Bills & Utilities: $1.99
Groceries: $36

Total: $43.19

Wednesday

7:00 AM: Blog time at our favorite cafe. $0

9:00 AM: Carpool. $1

10:00 AM: I’m so boring! But cereal is FREE. $0

12:00 PM: Making my way through my 50% off Monday meal. $0

5:30 PM: Head out a bit early to start cooking for our dinner tonight. $4.20

8:00 PM: Dinner with friends! Funnily our discussion turned to…How the hell does affiliate marketing work?! $0

Commute: $5.20

Total: $5.20

Thursday

7:00 AM: Coffee and blog time! $0

9:00 AM: Casual carpool to the city. $1

10:00 AM: I wish I could say I ate some yogurt, or hard boiled eggs…but I have to report again I ate cereal. $0

12:00 PM: Last day of lunch from Monday and it’s a nice giant helping. I have got to get my portion control better next week! $0

3:00 PM: I randomly see an email in my inbox for flat rate Uber! I’ve been waiting MONTHS for this moment!! Basically you pay upfront for the ability to pay $2.99 uber pools and $6.99 uberXs as flat rates for the whole month. Considering how many nights I’m riding from SF to Oakland at the hefty price of $15 per ride, this is an amazing deal! I snag a flat fare pass for $20

6:00 PM: Head home on the bus. $4.20

7:00 PM: Have to pick up a couple things from Trader Joe’s, mainly chives for this AMAZING cauliflower hash brown recipe, and some fresh hydrangeas for our dining table. $8.88

8:00 PM: Dinner at home! Cauliflower hash brown/crackers with some beef liver pate my boyfriend whipped up a couple days ago. It’s…….interesting. $0

Commute: $25.20
Groceries: $8.88

Total: $34.08

Friday

9:00 AM: Too tired this morning to work on the blog. Carpool to the city. $1

10:00 AM: You know it, cereal! $0

12:00 PM: Sandwiches for lunch today. They have this amazing turkey, bacon, avocado sandwich. $0

6:00 PM: BART to meet my friend to climb at the gym in SF! Another friend of mine is having a birthday party later at a bar. SO excited to use my flat rate Uber pass! $1.95

8:30 PM: Head over to my friend’s birthday. Trying out the flat rate uberpool now even though it’s just in the city. That’s how they get ya! $2.99

9:00 PM: I’m starving! Working out and the last time I ate was noon. I order a mac and cheese and some punch. $28

11:00 PM: Time to try my ubering into Oakland. For pools, you have to pay the difference if your total goes over, but luckily mine is only over by the tiniest amount. It’s only $3.52!

Commute: $9.46
Restaurants: $28

Total: $37.46

Saturday

8:00 AM: Blog time! I mostly spend this time making a couple pinterest images for my old blog posts. Man, designing a little picture with some text takes way longer than it looks! $4.10

11:00 AM: Restock groceries at the Farmer’s Market. Weirdly, our favorite meat vendor isn’t there today! We usually buy tons of bones to make homemade bone broth throughout the week, so it’s a huge bummer! $44.11

12:00 PM: Lunch at home. $0

2:00 PM: We decide to go climbing in Berkeley. We’ve been freed from the bonds of shitty public transit! Hurrah! Split with my boyfriend. $1.50

5:00 PM: I’m all about blogging right now! I’m working on my first email materials and have been working tons and tons to get it finished. We go to a nearby coffee shop. $2.99

7:00 PM: Decide to just eat out at a taco place nearby. The only defrosted meat we have at home is a whole chicken, which we don’t exactly have the patience to wait for… $12.00

8:00 PM: Pool home $2.99

Commute: $7.48
Groceries: $44.11
Restaurants: $16.10

Total: $67.69

Sunday

9:00 AM: We decide to change it up again this morning because of our uber freedom and go to the Berkeley coffee shop we worked at yesterday. $2.99

10:00 AM: Coffee + Still working on my email materials. I’m so excited to eventually reveal this! $2.50

12:00 PM: Ok, we’ve been really good about not eating brunch out, and there’s this diner we’ve been meaning to try out. The wait’s always an hour, but I spend a hefty 40 minutes in the Apple store drawing a really bad cartoon on the iPad Pros. The corn beef hash was incredible! $17

1:30 PM: More blog time at the coffee shop. It’s pretty difficult getting on top of a new content area in addition to thinking of new blog posts next week! $0

4:00 PM: Dead battery and no outlets! A blogger’s worst nightmare sends me home 🙁 $2.99

6:00 PM: Dinner at home. We eat the whole chicken my boyfriend cooked last night. To clarify, he cooked the whole chicken…we didn’t eat the whole chicken!! $0

8:00 PM: Sneaking in a little more time blogging. Soon I’m going to have to stop writing these money diaries because it’s just going to be me paying for coffee and ubers all weekend while working on my blog from different coffee shops!! $0

Commute: $5.98
Restaurants: $19.50

Total: $25.48

Jing is currently a software engineer based in Oakland, CA. She left her job in New York, moved to San Francisco unemployed, and more than doubled her salary in 4 months.

4 thoughts on “Money Diaries: June Week 2

  1. Girl, what time do you wake up if you blog at 7AM?? Also, I still can’t get over how cheap your morning carpool is! I love reading these money diaries- it’s so interesting to see a little snippet of someone’s life from this perspective.

    1. I pretty much roll out of bed at 7 AM and go straight to the coffee shop! It’s a 2 min walk from my apartment, and I come back to my apartment around 8:50 to get dressed/ready for work! I used to be the biggest night owl in the entire world but by chance randomly started going to bed earlier, and it’s been SO SO amazing having time to work on passion projects in the morning. I used to read Quora alll the time about how to become a morning person and failed so many times to become one!

    1. Thanks Lily! And congrats to you too!! As I write my money diaries more and more, I realize my expenses are pretty regular and generally on lock down except for the exceptional purchase here and there! I hear if you’re on a diet, you can lose weight/maintain weight more easily if you eat consistent meals…I guess it’s the same for financial diets too 😅

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *