Money Diaries

Money Diaries: June Week 4

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read my disclosures for more info.

Monday

7:00 AM: Walk over to a cafe further from the apartment since our standard spot is closed on Mondays. $3

9:30 AM: Carpool into the city. $1

10:00 AM: Yogurt for breakfast! It’s actually much easier than cereal since I usually eat cereal in the cafeteria but I can eat yogurt at my desk. $0

1:00 PM: Lunch leftovers from last Friday! $0

3:00 PM: Discovered I was charged for my actual first month at the gym. Gah…so far I’ve just been one of those people who never use their gym membership… $10

5:30 PM: I’m meeting my friend for an aerial hoop class at 6, so I leave work a little early to BART over. $1.95

6:00 PM: I bought a 5 pack groupon at this studio a few months ago and still have 4 classes left! Thankfully, since each class can be $30+!! This is a super fun activity, though you’re definitely going to feel it the next day…or 2 or 3 days… $0

7:30 PM: Uber pool home. $5.98

8:00 PM: Dinner at home. $0

Commute: $8.93
Bills & Utilities: $10
Restaurants: $3

Total: $21.93

Tuesday

7:00 AM: Cafe time! $2.73

9:00 AM: Carpool into SF. $1

10:00 AM: More yogurt! I think I’m a changed woman! $0

12:00 PM: Meet up with a friend for lunch — hummus/falafel sandwiches are so yummy. I eat half and save the other half for tomorrow. $10.85

3:00 PM: Discovered I was charged for Spotify. Damn bills!!! $7.50

4:00 PM: I found out that one of my favorite internet people Anna Akana just wrote a book, So Much I Want To Tell You! Of course I have to support her and buy it! If you want an intro to her videos, try this one$12.02

6:30 PM: Walk over to choir. $0

9:00 PM: Uber pool home! It was crazy expensive initially but after hanging around 10 more minutes, the fare dropped to $6.53

9:30 PM: Dinner at home. $0

Commute: $7.53
Bills & Utilities: $7.50
Restaurants: $13.58
Shopping: $12.02

Total: $40.63

Wednesday

7:00 AM: Working on the blog at the cafe. $2.73

9:00 AM: Carpool into the city. $1

10:00 AM: More yogurt mwah. $0

1:00 PM: Leftover sandwich from the day before. If I eat out at a pricier place one day, I always try to eat leftovers the next day… $0

6:00 PM: BART over to the climbing gym. $1.95

9:00 PM: Uber pool home. The price is sadly quite high today, I knew 3 days in a row below $7 was impossible… $13.86

9:30 PM: Super late dinners everyday $0

Commute: $16.80
Restaurants: $2.73

Total: $19.53

Thursday

7:00 AM: Working at the coffee shop! $2.73

11:30 AM: My boyfriend and I are both working from home today because we decided to try out couples therapy. Boyfriend pays this time, I’ll get it next time…fingers crossed I can use my FSA card!! $0

12:30 PM: We happen to be across from Safeway and there’s this crazy yummy bean dip there. $8.48

1:00 PM: We decide to try out this new barbecue place that just opened. It’s unfortunately pricey, and I end up only ordering a mac and cheese. $13.11

6:00 PM: Hah, we’re already home. No commuting costs whatsoever!! $0

7:00 PM: My boyfriend gets some groceries after his run, and I had no self control and told him to buy me a brownie. $1

8:00 PM: Dinner at home. $0

Groceries: $9.48
Restaurants: $15.84

Total: $25.32

Friday

7:30 AM: Get into the coffee shop a bit later than usual to work on the blog. $2.73

9:30 AM: Carpool into the city. $1

10:00 AM: The new “usual” yogurt. $0

12:00 PM: Free pizza at work. Not the most glam free lunch but still free! $0

4:00 PM: I’m staying with my friend in Palo Alto so she’s picking me up early to avoid traffic. $0

7:00 PM: We head over to our absolute favorite Taiwanese restaurant in Cupertino (Red Hot Wok). I die for 3 cup preserved egg. I order an extra serving to go for lunch next week. My friend’s on a limited diet, so I pay since I feel terrible my friend hardly ate any of it! $38.53

8:00 PM: We hit up Trader Joe’s for lady night movie snacks and walk out with Kettle Corn and Mango Mango gummies. My friend pays to offset my restaurant bill. $0

9:00 PM: Watching the new Bridget Jones movie on Netflix. It’s actually hilarious! $0

Commute: $1
Restaurants: $41.26

Total: $42.26

Saturday

10:00 AM: We decide to go to a coffee shop in Santa Clara for breakfast. Having a car is amazing! $0

11:00 AM: I get a drip coffee and avocado toast. Saying goodbye to my financial future as we speak… $7.50

11:30 AM: My friend also recommends trying this delicious tea latte, so of course I have to. It’s earl grey + vanilla + the frothiest cream and sugar on top. Definitely indulgent…I’ve sort of already made up my mind about the entire day being indulgent. $4

12:00 PM: Ever since that aerial hoop class I’ve kind of been obsessed with lean workout gear. I reaaally want to splurge on Outdoor Voices, but end up getting $$ top at Lululemon. $58.73

1:00 PM: We end up at Aritzia and some secret desire for crop tops and flowy tanks comes out of nowhere! 10/10/10 analysis: Absolutely yes to the first 2, not sure how many clothes I have that I truly intend to still have in 10 years, but I think I’m going to wear these enough to feel good about the purchase 10 years from now. In my mind, I can see wearing these for the next 2-3 years with high frequency. Don’t know how long they’ll last beyond that! $104.87

2:00 PM: We grab our favorite tea at Teavana — Peach Tranquility. We used to work together at J.Crew and would take tea breaks at the Teavana outside our office. It’s such a throwback! $4.99

5:00 PM: My friend is the best and drives me home all the way to Oakland! I venmo her some money to cover tolls and gas. $10

6:00 PM: Boyfriend and I decide we should go out for a dinner/movie date. Uber pool down to Jack London Square looking for this Burmese place we had heard of. It’s their new location, but it turns out they haven’t finished migrating from their old location and aren’t even open! $1.50

7:00 PM: We end up finding a cambodian place a 10 minute walk away. There’s this amazing eggplant dish we both tried called Troub Trung Kor. $16

8:00 PM: Uber pool over to the theater for Wonder Woman. $1.50

9:00 PM: Wonder Woman! I have to say I wasn’t super impressed with this movie, but it was entertaining. I totally fell for all the marketing around “This is really a superhero movie showcasing strong women”, but it ended up just being a movie about a kind but really naive one dimensional girl who shows off bad assery in a skimpy outfit. That’s what happens when you expect so much from DC I guess? Buffy the Vampire Slayer is still my favorite heroine of all time. $11

Restaurants: $32.49
Entertainment: $11
Commute: $13
Shopping: $163.60

Total: $220.09

Sunday

10:00 AM: Uber pool over to the brunch place last weekend. You know when you’ve had self control for a long amount of time and it just sort of breaks? I think that’s what’s happened to us now. We put our names in since the wait is an hour. $1.50

11:00 AM: Cafe at the usual spot in Berkeley. I’m figuring out this new flow in Mint and can’t say I love it. $2.73

12:00 PM: Brunch at the diner, they have THE BEST corned beef hash. $17

2:00 PM: We decide to try out a new coffee shop a 15 minute walk away. I’m the free loader who doesn’t actually buy any coffee this time but still works there…There’s only so much caffeine one can humanly consume in a day. $0

5:00 PM: Pool home. $1.50

7:30 PM: Need to get veggies and other things (mainly this crazy good fish sauce for our homemade bone broth) at Whole Foods. Pool over. $1.50

8:00 PM: There’s a Gig nearby, so we book that under my remaining credit to drive home. $0

8:30 PM: Settle the grocery bill! $63

9:00 PM: Dinner at home. $0

Commute: $4.50
Restaurants: $19.73
Groceries: $63

Total: $87.23

Jing is currently a software engineer based in Oakland, CA. She left her job in New York, moved to San Francisco unemployed, and more than doubled her salary in 4 months.

6 thoughts on “Money Diaries: June Week 4

  1. This so fun to read! I have a car, so it’s fun to read vicariously through your blog and see how a car-free life would be. And it’s awesome that you’re doing couples therapy- we actually did it a few months ago when we were having the same disagreement every week and it was SO incredibly helpful to learn new techniques of how to better communicate and listen to one another. Xo, Ying-NavigatingAdulthood

    1. Yeah! I’m really hoping to learn a thing or two during couples therapy especially asking the right questions and understanding how the other person thinks. I’m the type to get really caught up in the moment and forget what I might need to know to resolve conflict!

  2. I love how I’m not the only one who rolls into work past 9! Also, your spending is super low. I’d drop that amount in a weekend, no doubt.

    Re: Outdoor Voices, for shorter ppl like me, the 3/4 length legging is perfect. No stacking at the hems. If you want to pull the trigger I can send you a referral for $20 off $100. I know, I’m a bad influence…:)

    1. I’m pretty sure I haven’t gone into work at 9 for 4 years now, it’s so much more relaxing. I used to hate it because I was not a morning person at all and could sleep through 6 alarms straight, but now that I am, I just love having the time to myself in the mornings. Hah, it’s always the weekends where I do the most damage!

      Oh Luxe, you enabler! I would LOVE your referral, I’ll send you a message on twitter 😛

  3. I wonder how different these numbers would look like if you lived in a rural area. I live in a rural area, so I spend almost nothing on food (except groceries) or clothes weekly, but the flip side is that we have two cars plus their insurance and gas.

    This was a super fascinating breakdown! Thanks for sharing!

    1. That’s so true! I remember my parents never ate out when I was growing up in a more rural area. They were super frugal, but it also helps when there aren’t tons of options to eat and shop everywhere!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *