Money Diaries

Money Diaries: August Week 3

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read my disclosures for more info.

I missed my money diaries from NY, but I was with my boyfriend’s family for half the week fishing in upstate NY so I almost wonder if it’s worth backtracking! This one’s from the past week after I returned to SF.

Monday

7:30 AM: Really struggling to get to the coffee shop this morning. I’m crazy tired from our flight last night even though it came in early. I decide to hit up the coffee shop and work on the blog there, while working from home the rest of the day. $3

9:00 AM: Head home to work from home. $0

12:00 PM: Free lunch at home (basically eating cheese and crackers…) $0

1:00 PM: Stop by my bank to get $40 of quarters and $40 of $1 bills for our carpool. Split with my boyfriend. I’ll count this later when I actually use the money. $0

7:00 PM: Dinner at home. $0

Restaurants: $3

Total: $3

Tuesday

7:30 AM: Blog time at the usual coffee shop. $2.73

9:00 AM: Carpool into the city. $1

10:00 AM: Yogurt at work. $0

2:30 PM: Get 3 days worth of deli food for 50% off. $10.87

4:00 PM: I realize I’m out of toothbrush heads, so I get a few off amazon, as well as a set of small packing cubes. These are seriously the bees knees when packing. I love the small sizes since women’s clothes are so small and I can stuff so much into them. $44.72

6:00 PM: Bus home. $4.50

6:30 PM: We Gig over to Whole Foods to replenish our groceries. I still have $8 of credit left! $0

7:00 PM: Groceries…my boyfriend has switched over to a high fat low protein diet so we’re saving tons of money now. We basically just buy tons and tons of avocados. I throw some bread in the mix for home made avocado toast (by the way, Ms. Dash seasoning salt + salt/pepper + olive oil is a sick avocado toast combo) $14.10

7:30 PM: Gig home. $0

8:00 PM: Avocado toast at home. I spend the night painting with gouache (this brand is probably overkill for a newbie, but that’s what disposable income does to you…) I haven’t touched in months since my boyfriend’s mom gave us all sketchbooks while we were together. $0

Restaurants: $13.60
Commute: $5.50
Groceries: $14.10
Shopping: $44.72

Total: $77.92

Wednesday

7:00 AM: Working on the blog this morning. I’ve been kicking around a Finance 101 blog post for a while now but have been lazy writing it. Sometimes it’s hard to write about things you learned how to do so long ago (this one’s about how to choose a savings account, but seriously so many friends have asked me how to pick one!) $2.73

9:00 AM: Carpool into the city. $1

10:00 AM: Yogurt for breakfast at work. $0

11:00 AM: Charged for that dang gym… $10

1:00 PM: Deli leftovers! $0

4:00 PM: I’ve been playing artists sketchbook videos on youtube, and with last night’s successful sketch, I decide to pick up a couple extra paint colors and this really pricy liner pen. Completely unjustified purchase, but sometimes you just get so excited about a hobby. One of my favorite youtube artists to watch is Minnie Small. She just talks while drawing, and it’s the most therapeutic thing ever. $36.80

6:00 PM: Bus home. $4.50

7:00 PM: More avocado toast at home, drawing, and rewatching last sunday’s Game of Thrones. Amateur art below! $0

Restaurants: $2.73
Shopping: $36.80
Bills and Utilities: $10
Commute: $5.50

Total: $55.03

Thursday

7:00 AM: Blog at the coffee shop. $2.73

9:00 AM: Carpool into the city. $1

10:00 AM: Granola bars at work. $0

1:00 PM: Finished all the leftover deli food! $0

6:00 PM: We want to run to Whole Foods again after work for more avocados, so we BART over and walk to Whole Foods. $3.40

7:00 PM: Pay my boyfriend for my share of groceries. $22

7:30 PM: Uber back home. $1.75

8:00 PM: I read this great piece on Chinese comfort food–tomatoes and eggs, so I have to make that for dinner tonight. $0

Commute: $6.15
Groceries: $22
Restaurants: $2.73

Total: $30.88

Friday

7:00 AM: I was supposed to blog at the coffee shop, but instead I decide to open a savings account with CIT bank that I’ve seen advertised this whole time. I just love free money and that $100 opening bonus with 1.3% APY just tempts me. I can always transfer my money back to Barclays if I really hate them. $2.73

9:00 AM: Carpool into the city. $1

10:00 AM: Yogurt at work. $0

12:00 PM: We have sandwiches today at work, unfortunately not great to store for the next week. $0

5:00 PM: I decide to eat a couple leftover sandwiches for dinner so I can head over to the climbing gym after work. $0

6:00 PM: BART + Uber to the climbing gym. $6.90

8:30 PM: Head home from the gym. $3.50

Commute: $11.40
Restaurants: $2.73

Total: $14.13

Saturday

11:00 AM: Grab coffee with my boyfriend and our friend. $2.73

12:30 PM: Head over to the Farmer’s Market for some goodies. I end up blowing my grocery budget on a ton of farm fresh peaches and nectarines. I have a fruit weakness for white peaches/nectarines, and this one farm had something like 8 different varieties! $15.90

1:00 PM: Eggs and bacon at home. $0

4:30 PM: My boyfriend and I want to check out the Berkeley Rose Garden, but we head to a coffee shop in Berkeley first. $1.75

5:00 PM: Mid-day coffee. As far as dates go, getting coffee then going somewhere free is pretty dang cheap. I brought a board game to teach him, but the rules literally take 45 minutes to explain so we don’t actually get to play the game at all before heading out for the rose garden. $2.73

6:00 PM: Uber over to the rose garden! It’s a very tranquil place, only a couple other people are there. It’s always great to find places that are beautiful but not overcrowded. One of the best smelling roses is the Double Delight, and it’s coloration is just gorgeous. $1.75

7:00 PM: Uber home. $1.75

8:00 PM: Dinner at home. We end up watching the Minimalism documentary on Netflix featuring The Minimalists. My boyfriend loves it so much he ends up finding 4 trashbags worth of stuff throwing out. Not being much of a minimalist, I find about 5 items I want to give away. $0

Commute: $5.25
Restaurants: $5.46
Groceries: $15.90

Total: $26.61

Sunday

9:00 AM: Head over to work on the blog over at the coffee shop. $2.73

11:00 AM: Breakfast at home. Already some of my peaches went bad from leaving them out! I thought that was ok to do! Such a shame. $0

2:00 PM: We decide to play the board game from yesterday. If you love more strategic board games that are meant to take a while, this one is great! It took about a couple hours. $0

5:00 PM: Hit up Goodwill to donate our goodies! Since I’m out of Gig credit, this isn’t the cheapest donation run, but it just sucks thinking reusable items could end up in a landfill somewhere. $4.80

7:00 PM: Dinner and Game of Thrones at home. $0

Commute: $4.80
Restaurants: $2.73

Total: $7.53

 

Jing is currently a software engineer based in Oakland, CA. She left her job in New York, moved to San Francisco unemployed, and more than doubled her salary in 4 months.

8 thoughts on “Money Diaries: August Week 3

  1. I love that your BF went hogwild with minimalism and you’re like, nahhh. Also love the drawings and painting!

    I’m working on a 101 type thing, too, and I feel you on the basics. Some things are just muscle memory nowadays.

    1. I just gave away a bag and a half of clothes! Don’t make a girl part with more clothes!!

      It’s SO hard thinking back to what I was concerned about when I was doing something for the first time. It’s really that I try to capture in my 101s along with some interesting information I didn’t know myself. I think it helps that my blog isn’t anonymous because my friends always bring up great questions I don’t know that answer to/have never thought of!

  2. Hi there, really enjoying your blog – just wondering if maybe you are not aware of how ‘blowing my load’ is normally used? I choked on my coffee a bit when I read that one 🙂

    1. Oh yikes! I think I completely psychologically disconnected from the origins of that phrase. Sorry for giving you that unexpected surprise–corrected now!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *