Money Diaries

Money Diaries: August Week 5

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read my disclosures for more info.

Monday

8:00 AM: Because my boyfriend and I have been playing Agricola constantly in the evenings, we haven’t been going to bed early, and getting up in the mornings have been really tough. No coffee or blogging this morning! $0

9:00 AM: Carpool into SF. $1

10:00 AM: Granola bar at work. $0

12:00 PM: Getting on my shopping this morning. The Stoneworks laundry pods I bought last week are scented with patchoulli and vetivier, and my sheets smell amazing. I end up ordering a patchoulli all natural deodorant off Etsy from Anitako Organics. Ever since my friend told me about looking up cosmetic ingredients at the Environmental Working Group’s website, I’ve been a little paranoid about the products I’ve been using. $16.50

1:00 PM: Lunch leftovers from last week! $0

5:00 PM: End up leaving work and wandering around Union Square looking for a replacement for my favorite cashmere sweater which is looking worse for wear these days to the point I stopped wearing it. I’ve literally been looking for months and still haven’t found anything close. $0

7:00 PM: Bus home. $4.50

8:00 PM: Dinner at home and more Agricola. $0

Shopping: $16.50
Commute: $5.50

Total: $22

Tuesday

7:30 AM: Late night, but we manage to get to the coffee shop for a bit before work. $2.73

9:00 AM: Carpool to work. $1

10:00 AM: Granola bar at work. $0

12:00 PM: Meeting up with a friend at her office for lunch! We haven’t seen each other in months. Time really flies since I feel like I saw her only a few weeks back. $0

4:00 PM: My boyfriend loves Tony Robbins and convinced me to go to the next Unleash the Power Within event with him. He even managed to get me a $100 off by calling them and referring me since he’s gone to a lot of Tony Robbins events before. Even so, this one’s pricy! I’m glad I have my Travel/Business Services rollover, which I plan on splitting the event between (and whatever other non other rollover categories that aren’t maxed out). I tried to re-up my Chase points balance with a new card, but the price went up $50 just waiting to be approved for the car so I just bit the bullet before the price shoots up anymore. $695 

6:00 PM: Bus home. $4.50

6:30 PM: Need cheese and crackers, and some smoothie ingredients. $18.73

7:00 PM: My boyfriend gets home late from work but still wants to play Agricola. It’s another late night! Zzzz $0

Restaurants: $2.73
Commute: $5.50
Groceries: $18.73
Travel: $695

Total: $721.96

Wednesday

8:00 AM: Another morning skipping the coffee shop. So tired! $0

9:00 AM: Carpool into the city. $1

10:00 AM: Granola bar at work. $0

12:00 PM: Grab lunch with a coworker at a salad place nearby. We have this program at work called Lunch Roulette which matches you up with random coworkers outside your department which is pretty neat. Never quite figured out if this was expensable. $15.80

6:00 PM: Head out to the climbing gym via BART. $3.60

6:30 PM: Feels great to climb, we’ve been a bit out of it. We’re going camping/climbing this weekend with some friends, and outdoor climbing is way harder so we need to build some strength back up! $0

8:00 PM: Uber home. $1.75

Restaurants: $15.80
Commute: $6.35

Total: $22.15

Thursday

7:00 AM: Made it to the coffee shop this morning because we didn’t get into the board game last night! Whew! It’s fun but also super mentally taxing on a work night. I get a croissant for the morning. $6.93

9:00 AM: I think we officially committed to 2 more sessions of seeing our counselor so we’re headed there this morning and don’t need to carpool. $0

11:00 AM: Counseling time, boyfriend pays this time. $0

12:00 PM: Uber over to BART. $1.75

12:30 PM: BART into the city. $3.60

1:30 PM: Still have some lunch leftovers. $0

2:00 PM: I did it everyone, I signed up for Crunch. The last month’s fee + initiation is pricy. My budget has plenty of room from rollovers for this exact moment. My plan on making this worth it? Going to that Lyra or Pole class at least 4 times a month. $129.41

4:20 PM: Ride the SF cable car with my team to get drinks. It’s my first ride on the cable cars and of course I have to hang off the side. $7

4:30 PM: Team drinks at the Top of the Mark. We order a gigantic chocolate ganache cake which is too decadent to describe. The moscow mule is served in the most beautiful cup. $0

6:00 PM: Walk back over to the Transbay bus terminal. $0

7:00 PM: Take the bus home. $4.50

7:30 PM: Book our car for our weekend camping trip with Getaround (split with boyfriend). $194.67 $97.34

8:00 PM: Gig over to Whole Foods, err I mean Amazon. Boyfriend booked it, no idea how much it cost. $0

8:30 PM: Avocados are now $0.50 off! Sweet! The salad mix as well, but unfortunately only the smaller sizes. We pick up a bunch of snacks for our camping trip this weekend. $24.50

9:00 PM: Gig home. $0

9:30 PM: I need to replace my low profile sneakers, the soles have been ruined from walking in the rain and taking them camping/hiking, so I get a pair of leather converses from Nike. In the future, I plan on not being lazy and actually taking my hiking boots on all our outdoor trips so I have to stop replacing my daily shoes so frequently. Clicked through the Chase shopping portal of course (though I probably should’ve used eBates)! $109.25

Shopping: $109.25
Groceries: $24.50
Travel: $97.34
Commute: $9.85
Health & Fitness: $129.41

Total: $370.35

Friday

8:00 AM: No coffee this morning. Last minute packing for weekend camping. Finally get to use my packing cubes!! I wish I had a photo of my packing cube glory. $0

9:00 AM: Carpool into the city. $1

10:00 AM: Granola bars at work. $0

12:00 PM: Work orders pizza for lunch. Not the healthiest lunch, but it’s free! $0

4:50 PM: Head out early to pick up the Getaround car via BART. $3.60

5:30 PM: Uber over to the car. My unlimited flat rate ride pass is finished, and I didn’t get a notification to renew…now they’re all sold out. Paying regular price is kind of brutal. $4.53

6:00 PM: Pick up the car, pack our bags, and we’re off! $0

8:00 PM: Stop for dinner at In-n-Out and Starbucks. The best part about road tripping is getting to eat terrible food without feeling bad about it. $4.06

3:00 PM: Arrive after 6.5 hours of driving and delirium and set up camp in Bishop, CA. $0

Commute: $9.13
Restaurants: $4.06

Total: $13.19

Saturday

8:00 AM: It’s impossible to sleep in because it’s so hot out this weekend. At 7 AM, it’s 60 degrees and over the course of an hour it’s 90. $0

9:30 AM: Head over to a local bakery for breakfast/lunch. They have the most delicious Turkey Pot Pie. Boyfriend pays for this and I get his coffee. It’s very difficult to split everything on the go and with limited service. $6.60

10:30 AM: Head over to a local sports store to take pictures of the climbing books which usually give directions on how to get to climbs/where each climbing route is + the climbing level. Pick up a hat, a buff for my neck, and an eyewear retainer (I don’t need my glasses getting knocked off my face 70 feet up on a wall!) $56.55

12:00 PM: We get a great recommendation from one of the guys at the store to climb at a place called Pine Creek which is completely shaded as opposed to a gorge we originally had our eyes on that was going to get up to 115 degrees. $0

8:00 PM: Wrap up late and head out to dinner. I feel like I’ve been eating jerky and pot pie all day, so I opt for a salad with salmon. $16

9:00 PM: Pass out at camp. $0

Shopping: $56.55
Restaurants: $22.60

Total: $79.15

Sunday

8:00 AM: Up early again from the heat and head over to the bakery where I get my second pot pie and coffee. I also pay for my boyfriend’s two egg and cheese sandwiches. $21.71

10:00 AM: Get another recommendation from a local we met yesterday to go climb next to another creek that’s supposed to be kind of shaded. It ends up being pretty sunny, but bearable. Today we’re bouldering, which is climbing low boulders only 10-15 feet off the ground. That’s me…2 whole feet off the ground, definitely less freaky than having to fall 5-10 feet from 70 feet on a wall like the day before. Fun and freee. $0

2:00 PM: Head out to a lake nearby for swimming and more climbing. By the time we make it to the lake, we’re so tired, none of us end up climbing. Half the crew ends up dipping in the lake for an all natural shower, but it’s freezing, and I’m happy to sit on the side. $0

5:00 PM: Head out early for dinner, and manage to stop for coffee too. $4

6:30 PM: My boyfriend and I split a whole rack of ribs and I get a small side salad. $18

8:00 PM: Head over to the local county fair. One of our friends is Malaysian and has never been, so she wants an all american experience. We end up going on one ride, the ring of fire, and watch the demolition derby! $14.60

Restaurants: $43.71
Entertainment: $14.60

Total: $58.31

Jing is currently a software engineer based in Oakland, CA. She left her job in New York, moved to San Francisco unemployed, and more than doubled her salary in 4 months.

6 thoughts on “Money Diaries: August Week 5

  1. Hopefully your camping/climbing trip was enjoyable. I couldn’t have imagine trying to sleep under the sweltering weather. I’m guessing the weather in Bishop was as hot as the Bay Area this past weekend.

  2. Oh man that ganache cake looks to die for. Even that fig looks so perfect beside that cheese! And the best part is that it was free!

    Wow, I had no idea Tony Robbins tickets were so expensive. My friend was just telling me he saw him in Vancouver recently.

    1. Truly, the best part of it was the free part! Sometimes something delicious tastes even better when no part of you is calculating if it’s worth it.

      They are insane! I hope it’ll be worth it–it sounds like a really cool and interesting immersive experience so I’m definitely keeping my mind open 🙂

  3. Just stumbled on your money diaries and this is the first one i’ve read. Honestly this is goals! It might be because i’m an Aussie and everything here is heaps expensive but just reading everything you’ve done and where you’ve saved is actually so motivating. Under $100 in restaurants in a week – dang!

    Look forward to reading more! Might do a 1 week challenge myself where i do this everyday! – Brenda Chan

    1. Thanks for stopping by Brenda! I’m so flattered! I’ve definitely heard the prices in Australia are $$$$! Good luck with your challenge. I’m so motivated to save where I can even more when I know I’m posting my spending here!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *