Money Diaries

Money Diaries: September Week 3

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read my disclosures for more info.

Monday

7:30 AM: Coffee at home, latte made by my aspiring barista boyfriend. $0

8:50 AM: Had to buy some bubble wrap and lip balm from CVS this morning for the things I’m selling on eBay. $6.53

9:00 AM: Carpool into the city. $1

10:00 AM: There is no food a the office…I have no idea why. Starved until lunch. $0

12:00 PM: Buying some shipping envelopes at Target. $7.58

12:15 PM: Counting the sale for the second perfume I sold that I’m shipping today. –$30

12:30 PM: Getting nostalgic for the flavor of flaming hot cheetos and stop into Walgreen to buy a bag. $1.69

1:30 PM: Lunch leftovers from last week since I didn’t get to eat a couple portions from the full day lunch provided workshop. $0

3:00 PM: Printed the shipping label for my eBay sale and drop it off at the post office. $4.16

6:00 PM: Walk over to Chinatown to meet up with my friend for pho before we head over to a SF Color Factory, which is a pop up interactive art exhibit exploring colors. $0

7:00 PM: Pho is so delicious. I have been craving vermicelli for weeks now. My friend and I get into a conversation about whether real estate is worth investing in because she’s considering buying a property in our hometown. I’m still undecided. Real estate seems like this big scary separate thing. $12

8:00 PM: Wander around to an Asian cafe near Color Factory since we still have time to kill. I’m way too full to get anything. $0

9:00 PM: Head over to Color Factory! $0

10:00 PM: Lyft line home. $14

Commute: $15
Restaurants: $12
Shopping: -$11.73
Groceries: $1.69

Total: $16.96

Tuesday

8:00 AM: Woke up late this morning with no time for the coffee shop. $0

9:00 AM: Carpool into the city. $1

10:00 AM: Still not food at the office! We’re prepping to get rid of the one of two floors our office is on in preparation to move onto a different floor in January…could that be why? $0

12:00 PM: Lunch leftovers again! $0

5:00 PM: Head out early from work because I want to take advantage of the sale at Bloomingdale’s but I need to triple the check the fit for two items. Walk over. $0

6:30 PM: Pick up water for choir. $7.97

7:00 PM: Venmo a friend for my old roomie’s birthday cake. $5

8:00 PM: Singing and the most decadent chocolate cake ever. This cake must be 10 inches thick. $0

10:00 PM: Actually decide to do the BART/Lyft Line combo because I know I’ll have to Lyft Line tomorrow as well…might as well try to save some money. $3.65 + $4.06

Commute: $8.71
Groceries: $12.97

Total: $21.68

Wednesday

7:30 AM: Head over to the coffee shop for some work. I’ve had almost no time to do anything writing these past couple mornings or nights! $2.73

9:00 AM: Carpool into the city. $1

10:00 AM: Yay, yogurt is back in stock at work! $0

2:00 PM: I planned on getting my deli lunch deal but completely forgot that my team is going out for an ice cream celebration after resolving a few huge technical issues this week! Free ice cream! $0

3:00 PM: Very late lunch, so I end up splurging on a poke bowl. $12.91

6:30 PM: BART over to meet my friend at the climbing gym in SF. I have been eyeing this one problem I couldn’t get last week! $1.95

7:00 PM: Spoiler alert, I still wasn’t able to get the problem! This one’s gonna keep me coming back for more. $0

9:00 PM: Pool is cheaper for Line for once! Pool home. $14.26

Commute: $17.21
Restaurants: $12.91

Total: $30.12

Thursday

8:00 AM: Late stop into the coffee shop this morning, but it doesn’t matter too much since I have 2 errands to run today so I’m working from home. $2.73

12:00 PM: Make leftover brisket noodle soup at home. $0

7:00 PM: Dinner at home. $0

8:00 PM: Evening blogging! I need my morning routine rescued ASAP. $0

Restaurants: $2.73

Total: $2.73

Friday

8:00 AM: Another late morning at the coffee shop. $2.73

9:00 AM: Carpool into the city. $1

10:00 AM: Breakfast at the office (more yogurt!) $0

12:00 PM: On the menu today at lunch is burgers. $0

3:00 PM: Charged for Spotify. $7.50

4:30 PM: Put in an order at Bloomingdale’s for a classic drop shoulder Vince sweater which I’ve been eyeing for 2 months and a pair of black jeans because I’ve gotten too fat for my current pair. I was only eating salads 3 summers ago when I bought my current pair and now I’ve returned to my normal waist size. I didn’t want to pull the trigger on these until I had proven to myself I could return/sell a few other things! It was the perfect time since there was a 25% off sale, clicked through the Chase portal for the extra 4% too! $408.87

5:00 PM: Walk over to the gym for my Lyra class. Today’s class is pretty relaxed since the main instructor isn’t there and we’re relearning the same sequence from last week. $0

6:30 PM: Power walk 15 blocks to meet up with friends at the Ferry Building. One of our friend’s boyfriend’s is in town from NY and he’s flying out tonight. $0

6:45 PM: Share some amazing oysters. These are SO much better than $1 happy hour oysters. I guess they should be considering they’re almost $3 a pop. Also add some clam chowder on top of that. Still need to split this meal properly because me and another friend wanted to use our Chase Freedoms… $74.14

9:00 PM: Lyft line home. Split this with my boyfriend. $11

10:00 PM: We decide we want to watch a movie at home tonight, so we start watching First They Killed My Father on Netflix, which is amazing and emotional. It’s based on the memoir of a survivor of the Khymer Rouge in Cambodia. $0

Commute: $12
Bills and Utilities: $7.50
Restaurants: $76.87
Shopping: $408.87

Total: $505.24

Saturday

10:00 AM: Sleep in this morning and get a slow start to the day. $0

10:30 AM: Order a shoe horn so I can stop damaging the backs of my new shoes. $5.89

11;00 AM: Head out to go work at a coffee shop. We even whip out our bikes for a ride! Unfortunately we discover the tires on both me and my boyfriend’s bikes are flat. Womp womp. $0

11:30 AM: I also randomly remember I’m supposed to ship a third eBay perfume sale from the post office. Head there first…it pains me I didn’t buy the postage through Paypal with their discount, but that’s what you get when you’re forgetful. $7.15

11:45 AM: Counting the perfume sale. –$67.75

12:00 PM: Walk our bikes over to a bike store to pump our tires. $0

12:15 PM: Finally off to the coffee shop. $0

12:30 PM: I get a giant chives and cheese croissant along with an iced coffee. Settle in to get some blogging done! Finally getting to my review of Marie Kondo’s book! $8.75

4:00 PM: Bike home. $0

4:30 PM: Eat a light “lunch” and finish watching First They Killed My Father at home. $0

7:30 PM: Decide to grab dinner at a chinese restaurant around the corner we’ve been meaning to check out for ages. $34

8:00 PM: Agricola date at home, since my boyfriend has been dying to play for weeks and I’ve just felt too much inertia to get started. $0

Shopping: -$54.71
Restaurants: $42.75

Total: -$11.96

Sunday

8:30 AM: We managed to get together a small climbing day trip with a few friends so I spend the morning prepping gear. $0

9:00 AM: Boyfriend gets groceries to bring for the breakfast our friend is hosting pre-climbing trip. Haven’t gotten to splitting this yet! $0

9:30 AM: Another friend picks us up in his car and we head over to help with breakfast. We end up making those amazing Pinterest baked toast/bacon/egg cups which get topped with this amazing bruschetta sauce from Trader Joe’s. Our friend has also prepped real pumpkin pancakes! So good! $0

10:30 AM: Head over to Whole Food’s for lunch time goods. Still need to split this one with my boyfriend too. $0

11:00 AM: Drive over to Mt. Tam nearby to get the day started! Our friend has THE most amazing beater car ever–a Toyota Echo he inherited from his dad which they got for $8k. He ended up totaling the car a few years ago and couldn’t afford to fix it, but got an amazing deal by saying he didn’t need matching doors…so one of the doors on his car is silver while the rest of it is red! $0

12:00 PM: The climbing spot we were originally headed is closed and we end up heading to a more remote climbing spot along the beach. It ends up being about a 30-40 minute hike down, but the scene is beautiful. Throughout the day we spotted 4 deer, 6 dolphins (so close to shore!), and 8 seals. Below is a picture of my boyfriend climbing near the water right as the sun was setting and 5 minutes before the dolphins showed up. $0

6:45 PM: Head out as the sun’s setting so we don’t get caught hiking back in complete darkness. This is a killer on my legs! $0

7:30 PM: Drive to a chinese place nearby for dinner. Still unsettled check for this one too. $0

10:00 PM: Arrive home, shower, and promptly pass out in bed. $0

Total: $0 (to be calculated)

Jing is currently a software engineer based in Oakland, CA. She left her job in New York, moved to San Francisco unemployed, and more than doubled her salary in 4 months.

4 thoughts on “Money Diaries: September Week 3

  1. Darn it, now your making me wanna go out and buy sandwiches from Ike’s and eat it with some flaming hot cheetos. I love those chips!!
    I went to a friend’s birthday party for his kid and told me about the Color Factory. How did you like it?

    1. I used to be obsessed with Flaming Hot Cheetos! And then I discovered Flaming Hot Fries which are amazing too, and they don’t sell them on the east coast so when I moved to SF I was SO excited!

      Color Factory was incredible! Unfortunately we got kicked out after an hour because we took the slot an hour before closing, but it was super fun! Just really visually immersive 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *