Money Diaries

Money Diaries: October Week 3

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read my disclosures for more info.

Monday

8:30 AM: Very tired from last night’s climbing adventure despite going to bed early-ish. No coffee shop, no blogging, just a whole lot of hitting the snooze button. $0

9:00 AM: Carpool into the city. $1

9:30 AM: Get into the city a bit early. End up grabbing a New Orlean’s Ice Coffee from Blue Bottle. $4.16

10:00 AM: Breakfast yogurt at work. $0

12:00 PM: Decide today I’m going to work out during lunch. I do tons of upper body related exercise but still haven’t found anything to help me with cardio. Walk over to the gym. $0

12:15 PM: Join the noon spinning class. My first time spinning! I have no idea how to set up my bike and the instructor is super helpful. I get my butt kicked during the class “climbing” the hills. 15 minutes in and I can’t stop staring at the clock on my bike wondering when it will end! $0

1:15 PM: While walking on my way back to the office, I stop by a book supply store to look at notebooks. I’ve been ogling these for months and decide it’s time to reward myself after spotting one of the new shiny Leuchtturn copper notebooks. Not one of my best impulse resistant moments. I haven’t journaled regularly since high school, but I really want to start again. I need a place for written therapy. $27.67

1:30 PM: Still have some leftovers from last week’s deli lunch. $0

6:00 PM: Head home on the transbay bus. $4.50

6:30 PM: Head to Trader Joe’s for some staples — cheese, spinach, yogurt, salami, and frozen mangos. $18.53

7:00 PM: Work on my money diary from last week! $0

7:30 PM: Dinner smoothie at home + cheese and crackers. $0

Groceries: $18.53
Commute: $5.50
Restaurants: $4.16
Shopping: $27.67

Total: $55.86

Tuesday

8:00 AM: Late morning, but my boyfriend and I decide we need to start getting back on track with our mornings so we go to work at the coffee shop anyways. Manage to get last week’s money diary up. $2.73

9:00 AM: Carpool into the city. $1

10:00 AM: Yogurt at work. $0

10:30 AM: I have a terrible stomach ache at work and can’t focus. I end up going to Walgreens for some ibuprofen. $4.33

2:30 PM: Grab food at the deli. $10.29

6:00 PM: Take the transbay bus home. $4.50

7:00 PM: Really digging dinner smoothies! I get my post on moving to New York wrapped up. $0

Restaurants: $13.02
Commute: $5.50
Shopping: $4.33

Total: $22.85

Wednesday

8:00 AM: Back to a semi early blogging schedule at the coffee shop. $2.73

9:00 AM: Carpool into the city. $1

10:00 AM: Yogurt at work. $0

12:00 PM: I’ve been coordinating with a coworker on our lunch roulette lunch, but he’s been on call for jury duty. We happen to find a time today to grab lunch at a bar nearby which has amazing posole. Still wondering if this is expense-able…but it just seems cheap to ask, I guess. And I have no idea who to ask. $26.22

6:00 PM: BART over to the climbing gym. $1.95

6:30 PM: Get some good climbing in with friends. $0

8:30 PM: The climbing gym has a shoe demo going on where you can try on different shoes by the same brand. Since my current shoes aren’t a perfect fit, I go on ahead and give it a go. I find a pair that fits really well that I want to try out. I know I shouldn’t be buying new shoes again, but part of me is just always looking for the perfect fit! Considering climbing shoe break in periods can take weeks or months, it’s been really hard to tell if the fit is absolutely perfect right off the bat. And I thought I was over my shoe addiction. $87.03

9:00 PM: Uber pool home. $3.49

Restaurants: $28.95
Commute: $6.44
Shopping: $87.03

Total: $122.42

Thursday

8:00 AM: Get into the coffee shop to get some blogging done. I have another super long post in the works! I’m glad to be back to my morning schedule. It’s actually really hard to wake up as early when it’s still dark out in the mornings at 7 AM! $2.73

9:00 AM: Carpool into the city. The driver doesn’t accept donations so we get a free ride! $0

10:00 AM: Yogurt at work. $0

1:00 PM: Deli leftovers for lunch. $0

6:30 PM: Transbay bus home. $4.50

7:00 PM: Dinner at home. $0

Restaurants: $2.73
Commute: $4.50

Total: $7.23

Friday

8:00 AM: Another morning at the coffee shop, still trying to get my post on lessons I learned from moving to New York done. $2.73

9:30 AM: Barely make the carpool this morning. This driver also doesn’t accept donations! $0

10:00 AM: Yogurt at work. $0

12:00 PM: Sushi for lunch! I get all the tuna things I want. $0

5:00 PM: Realize I’m slightly late for Lyra, walk over to the gym. $0

5:15 PM: We get to do some really cool moves this time! I still feel like a flailing duck though I think there’s been some minor improvement. $0

7:00 PM: Meet up with my boyfriend and we BART over to Oakland and walk to Whole Foods. $3.65

7:30 PM: Huge Whole Foods haul involving more fish to be steamed. $40.58

8:00 PM: Uber pool home. $1.75

8:30 PM: Dinner at home and Netflix premiere of yet another Stephen King novel turned movie called 1922. $0

Commute: $5.40
Groceries: $
40.58
Restaurants: $2.73

Total: $48.71

Saturday

9:30 AM: Up a bit early this morning because we want to check out the REI garage sale. Uber pool over to Berkeley. $1.75

10:00 AM: I’m always curious what type of stuff ends up at the sale. I want to check the quality of the goods because I may pick up a backpacking backpack in a future sale and want to know if this is worth getting up early for. There are also these awesome tiny little folding chairs we were scouting, but unfortunately the one we found is broken. $0

10:30 AM: Walk across the street to Whole Foods which happens to have a huge spacious coffee shop inside and sit to blog. $2.50

1:00 PM: End up getting really hungry and get something to eat at the hot food bar. Guess that’s the advantage of working at Whole Foods! $7.07

2:00 PM: Uber pool over to the climbing gym. $1.75

2:30 PM: Hilariously, I run into our friend at the climbing gym and he ended up buying that folding chair! He did a little DIY with a $2 piece from Home Depot and fixed it up. DIY can seriously save some money. $0

5:00 PM: After taking a couple nasty falls, my boyfriend and I uber pool home. $1.75

6:00 PM: Dinner at home. $0

7:00 PM: I decide to watch some terrible tv on Netflix and put on Riverdale while reading Tony Robbins Unshakeable. I was reading this book back in May but took a break from it since I ended up buying another book I was more excited to read at the time. It feels nice to just seriously veg out and do nothing! $0

Commute: $5.25
Restaurants: $9.57

Total: $14.82

Sunday

10:30 AM: Planning on going to Berkeley this morning. $1.75

11:00 AM: Coffee and egg quiche and blogging at our usual Berkeley cafe. $8.50

12:00 PM: Decide to get the latest John Green book, Turtles All The Way Down on Amazon. I totally forgot it was coming out this month, and I’m always in the mood for a good coming of age YA novel. I have yet to get my library card, but I definitely still want to. Today was not the day, though. $13.10

2:00 PM: Head over to the diner down the street for some food, we’re both starving at this point. Our laptops are also out of battery, and amazingly the spot we snag at the diner has 2 outlets! I get a bowl of chili and an apple muffin for “brunch”. $12

3:00 PM: So I’ve been pitching this idea of buying this Inside Line Equipment backpack for my boyfriend for his birthday which is still a month away. He’s been eyeing this bag for probably 6 months now, and I want to make sure he’d be into it so it doesn’t get tossed later in a bout of minimizing. He refuses to let me pay for the entire thing, so I’ll be surprising him with a little something on his actual birthday. $150

4:00 PM: Back to the coffee shop for more blogging. I’m currently working on a post about credit card interest. It’s surprisingly more complicated than I expected. $0

6:00 PM: Uber pool over to the Chinese restaurant we Postmated last weekend to actually share a sit down meal together. $1.75

7:00 PM: I’m happy to report we actually ordered a reasonable amount of food, only 2 entrees and 1 steamed bun! $24

8:00 PM: Uber pool home. $1.75

10:00 PM: For once we get to bed at a reasonable hour! Excited to actually wake up feeling refreshed tomorrow! $0

Commute: $5.25
Restaurants: $44.50
Shopping: $163.10

Total: $212.55

Jing is currently a software engineer based in Oakland, CA. She left her job in New York, moved to San Francisco unemployed, and more than doubled her salary in 4 months.

4 thoughts on “Money Diaries: October Week 3

    1. I should write a post about it, but I just feel it’s not something that’s available widely. Still, that could clear things up for people 😛 I’ll definitely add that one to my to-read 🙂

    1. The REI garage sale happens I think twice a year and they sell all these returned goods. They don’t do much quality control so it’s mostly up to us to figure out if something’s working by reading the “return reason” tags, but it’s definitely a great place to scoop up a good deal!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *